ANSI logo
PRC flag PRC Information

PRC Conformity Assessment System: Key Organizations

Conformity Assessment System

Key organizations in the conformity assessment system of China include:

State Council

The PRC Cabinet, otherwise known as the State Council, is the highest level of government of China. The State Council is responsible for overseeing the work of Chinese Ministries, Bureaus, Commissions and Agencies.

National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC)

The National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC) is the chief, ministry-level economic planning body of China. The NDRC formulates key strategies, plans and policies regarding conformity assessment and standards in multiple sectors. The NDRC also collaborates with other ministries to jointly promulgate regulations.

General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine (AQSIQ)

The General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine of the People's Republic of China (AQSIQ) is designated by the State Council to administer both the Certification and Accreditation Administration of China (CNCA) and the Standardization Administration of China (SAC). CNCA supervises all certification and accreditation activities throughout China, while SAC is the national standards body. AQSIQ promulgates and implements laws and regulations related to quality supervision, inspection and quarantine.

In addition to supervising CNCA and SAC, AQSIQ is the official administrator of the Chinese Compulsory Certification (CCC System). AQSIQ announces the CCC product catalogue and other related rules and regulations, but they have designated CNCA to implement the system.

Certification & Accreditation Administration of People's Republic of China (CNCA)

The Certification & Accreditation Administration of People’s Republic of China (CNCA) is approved by the State Council and charged with administering the conformity assessment system under the supervision of AQSIQ. CNCA coordinates certification and accreditation activities in China and participates in international conformity assessment activities.

CNCA directs compulsory certification and testing for several requirements, including the CCC Mark. CNCA designates several, accredited certification bodies (DCBs), testing labs (DTL), and inspection bodies (DIB) to perform compulsory certification for the CCC Mark. CNCA assigns each DCB a specific product-scope, and they may only certify products within their designated scope. CNCA also develops guidelines, known as Implementation Rules, for product-specific certification. The documents include detailed, technical application requirements for products included in the CCC catalogue.

CNCA's main functions are summarized below:

  • Partner with AQSIQ in the administration and implementation of the CCC System
  • Designate certification bodies for scope-specific conformity assessment work for the CCC system
  • Drafts state laws and regulations concerning certification and accreditation
  • Participate in international conformity assessment, certification and accreditation activities

check mark Read the official Chinese Regulations for Certification and Accreditation

China National Accreditation Service (CNAS)

China National Accreditation Service for Conformity Assessment (CNAS) is the national accreditation body of China unitarily responsible for the accreditation of certification bodies, laboratories and inspection bodies. CNCA authorizes CNAS to perform their duties in accordance with the Regulations of the People’s Republic of China on Certification and Accreditation.

CNAS’ main functions are summarized below:

  • Operate the national accreditation system for conformity assessment bodies and develop rules, criteria and guidance for accreditation
  • Accredit all certification bodies (ACB’s), testing labs (ATL’s) and inspection bodies (AIB's) in China
  • Ensure conformity assessment bodies provide impartial service and accurate results

check mark  Learn more about CNAS

Designated Certification Bodies

CNCA designates certain, accredited certification bodies (DCB), testing labs (DTL), and inspection bodies (DIB) to certify and test productsin accordance with the CCC requirements. CNCA assigns each DCB a specific product-scope, and they may only certify products within their specific scope. 

China's Certification of Quality Center (CQC), is the largest certification body in China. CQC, accredited by CNAS and designated by CNCA, administers the CCC Mark for 17 product categories. CQC also certifies products for several other conformity assessment marks that are used in China, including the CQC mark.

China Inspection and Quarantine  (CIQ)

The China Inspection and Quarantine (CIQ) inspects products at the border during import and export according to sanitation, health, and quarantine supervision laws, and also supervises certain certification bodies under its jurisdiction. CIQ's licensing requirements are product-specific. At the Chinese border, many imported products are first processed by CIQ before proceeding to the CCC checkpoint at customs.

CIQ’s import requirements are not as extensive as the export requirements. Click here for additional information about import licenses from CIQ.

CIQ has many requirements for potential exports. Many products must go through quality testing to ensure that products leaving China are safe and of quality.

Other Regulators

Chinese Ministries may require additional, certification for specific products. Therefore, there are additional regulators in the conformity assessment system. For example, The Ministry of Information Technology performs energy-saving assessments and oversees the automobile fuel consumption labels for all related products. Be sure to know what additional conformity assessment mark(s) and / or certifications are required for each imported and exported product.

Conformity Assessment Used in China  next

Follow us on Facebook    Follow us on Twitter    Follow us on LinkedIn
Back to top